Author Topic: Crosman G1 Extreme  (Read 7008 times)

Offline tjk

• http://
Crosman G1 Extreme
« on: April 12, 2009, 03:07:17 AM »

Howdy Folks! I thought I'd give my opinion on this rifle after shooting it for a few weeks. As some of you know, I bought this rifle at a pawn shop for about $80. The stock screws were loose, and that's about all that was wrong with it. The G1 had a very smooth factory cocking cycle leading me to believe it had been well broken in by the previous owner,...but in retro-spect, I'm really not sure if that statement was very accurate?!?!?! When I ran it through a chroney, it was in the 869-877 fps range so I'm satisfied that things inside the action are huncky-dory. Initially, I started shooting Beeman Cro-Mag's through it and was getting some light to moderate dieselling. Leading me to believe it was still not as broken in as much asI thought.So I ran a few dry patches and sure enough, we had some residual lubes still working their way though the system. The next shot really dieselled something awful,....but that settled down in no time at all. Now this particular rifle had some very healthy droop to it,...and again, the previous owner had the scope set-up totally backwards. Even had the front of the scope shimmed up,....no wonder they couldn't get it to shoot in the ball-park!!!!! I stipped everything off and started from scratch. The mount was at first placed on backwards, and I believe they tried to use the scope stop pin as an elevation adjustment. I re set the mount and re-centered the scope rets, and proceeded to see where we stood. Ended up shimming the rear of the scope a good 1/16" to keep the rets optically centered. Now that the scope was set correctly, I was able to hit nickel sized groups off-hand at ten yards. But the scope has taken some time to get used to (Crosman 3-9X32AO model,...smaller than my other Cros/CP's).