Author Topic: HW 90 or AA 200HC?  (Read 2467 times)

Offline Zzyzx

• http://
HW 90 or AA 200HC?
« on: June 18, 2010, 04:09:12 PM »
Am looking for info here on what will probably be the final purchase to fill out my string of rifles.(at least for now)

The Weirauch HW90 looks really inviting with the gas ram. The Air Arms 200HC also looks very good. I know the AA models are nice and accurate and well built and have read a lot more about them than the HW rifles though I understand both are excellent.

Any good reason to choose one over the other for a hunting rifle first, plinker second and hardly ever target shooter? Pickup/tractor time and field use will be a good part of the shooting experience whichever one I end up with.

Offline ctw19

• GTA Donations
Re: HW 90 or AA 200HC?
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2010, 04:37:14 PM »
I have no experience with gas rams, but I see them as being complex.  A spring is simple, and can be cheaply replaced.  And the air arms tx200 hc is easy to take apart - you do not need a spring compressor!  So go with the tx200 hc, in .177.  I bought one a couple days ago, have been hunting with it a lot, and it is deadly.  buy it, you will not regret it.   I'm using a 3-9*32 leapers scope to cut down on weight, and diabolo field pellets, 8.44 grain.

Offline Progun

• http://comcast
« Reply #2 on: June 20, 2010, 05:45:24 AM »