Author Topic: Pellet sizes, 4.50, 4.51, 4.52 and so on.  (Read 18084 times)

Pellet sizes, 4.50, 4.51, 4.52 and so on.
« on: January 24, 2007, 06:21:40 AM »
What are the different head sizes all about?

Hello to all, I’m not so new on this forum, and not new to airgun forums as I’m a participating member of our local forum in sunny South Africa and would like to introduce myself. My real name is Johan Swanepoel and my friend that helped in this research is Dale Sullivan. I’m an ex analytical chemist and Dale, well he had to do with guns his whole life and is the biggest walking, talking encyclopaedia on WWII rifles, airplane and history, that I’ve ever met.

Our research on pellet head sizes has proven to be somewhat entertaining.
What are you actually getting when you buy a tin of pellets claimed to be 4.51, 4.52 or so on.
We bought a tin of JSB Exact (4.53) and a tin of FX Premium (4.52)

Setting the micrometer to the claimed pellet diameter, we simply observed which pellets heads passed through the set gap. We didn’t use the micrometer’s ratchet for fear of deforming the pellet.

Here are the results of our measuring:

JSB Exact (4.53 mm) Sample of 10 pellets.

Set at 4.53 all 10 were smaller.
Set at 4.52;    9 were smaller.
Set at 4.51;   6 were smaller.
Set at 4.50;   3 were still smaller.

FX Premium (4.52 mm) Sample of 10 pellets.

Set at 4.52 all 10 were smaller.
Set at 4.51;   9 were smaller.
Set at 4.50;   3 were smaller.

The pellets that passed through the set gap without touching the jaws were turned a quarter of a turn at a time to see if they weren’t perhaps oval, but they did not measure to the set size.
We were told by e-mail from H&N that one can’t measure the head size of a pellet with a micrometer, but only with a so called ‘ring gauge’. That’s why went to the stage where we only observed pellets passing through the set gap without touching.